Amtrak

I’ve never really been a big fan of air travel.  I’m more into rail travel.  Traveling by rail is something that is done in many parts of the world as their main form of transportation.  Americans rely on air travel for our needs.  I like to travel by rail, I find it more relaxing and an enjoyable trip.  You traverse country that you never get the opportunity to see from miles above.  I also find it less expensive than air travel on many of the trips I take.  If you’re traveling a short distance, the train is a great way to travel.  The fare is inexpensive and you can get to where you’re going in a reasonable amount of time.  One great example of this is my trip to Chicago.  Living in Des Moines, I jump on the train just South of town.  The trip takes a total time of 5 hours start to finish.  Now, you’re thinking, ‘five hours?! That’s unreal!’  However, I usually drive this trip, which is a five hour trip.  If I fly, it’s an hour flight, an hour and a half of security before the flight and hour on the train to get downtown; three and a half hours.  When I travel on the train, yes it does take a little longer, but I save about $200 per trip on fare alone.

If you’re traveling a little further, more times than not, a trip can take place over night.  So you still get to where you’re going, you get a full nights sleep and you’ve saved some money with, usually, not affecting your schedule.  I think it’s also worth noting the security issues.  The security at the platform is so much more streamlined and often times behind the scenes to the extent that you don’t even know it’s happening.  Amtrak makes it very easy, efficient and clean when you travel by train.  It’s worth looking into and I think that you’ll be surprised by how easy and fun it is to travel by train, in contrast to dread most of us experience when traveling by air.  Give it a try, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

