From over the weekend

After taking the weekend to unwind, recharge and just plain hang out, I actually ended up getting quite a bit accomplished.  This nice little set of under cabinet lights that had been sitting on my kitchen counter, taunting me for the better part of a month now, finally got the best of me.  Installed and wired right into the house in less that three hours.  No, I’m not a professional in the least, hence the three hours and no, the house did not burn down.  I’m actually more proud of the fact that my house is not a smoldering pile of ash than it only took me three hours, so there is that.  Also watched a lot of football (how’d you like to be Aaron Rodgers right now?), got some reading in, and some writing.  This nice little short story I’m working on is really starting to take shape.  I’ll post a pdf version of it here when I get it to a place where I’m ready for criticism.  Tech reviews will happen later today and into the week and general observations similar to this one…

My neighbor, like myself, uses a shovel when it snows.  But what I saw yesterday out my window while I was canvasing the neighborhood with my binoculars, was my neighbor ridding his property concrete with a push broom!  What? Really?  Now, you may be thinking, ‘Chris, don’t be so hard on the guy.  If there is only a slight dusting of snow, I’d use a push broom as well.’  Well, there was more than a slight dusting.  There was more than more than a slight dusting.  This guy decided that will all of the snow we’d received in the last week that he was just going to let it all pile up and get it over the weekend.  I guess.  I don’t know.  I suppose I could have gone out and helped the guy, but I felt so much more in tune with Alfred Hitchcock then than I ever have.  So I did the only thing I knew to do in a situation such as this, I went to the fridge for a beer and the cupboard for a Ding Dong, then back to the room with the binoculars.  Following a brief conversation about said neighbor with my brother,  I became bored with scouring the ‘hood and decided football would be a much better way to spend the remainder of the Sunday.  It made chuckle.

One thought on “From over the weekend

Leave a Reply

