Acceptable Littering?

We all know that littering is bad.  It puts millions of tons of trash on the streets annually that are not being recycled or disposed of properly.  Then, as I was on the way to work this morning, I saw (this is the second time this has happened and I’ve seen it) a man toss his cigarette out the window.  Now, my question to the masses, is there such a thing as ‘acceptable littering’?  I would like to think ‘no’ and that the old saying of ‘a place for everything and everything in its place’ would hold true, especially with waste.  But as I put this question to a few of my colleagues, it seems that no one really cared that a cigarette butt was being thrown onto the concrete.  It seems that the general consensus was ‘its biodegradable, it’ll be fine.’  Really?  Then I had a follow up question, what about the new chip bags that are made with all plant fibers and are 100% biodegradable, are those OK to throw out the window?  This time, everyone answered ‘no.’  So why is it that people that smoke are somehow given a social pass to throw their trash out their windows and not dispose of it like a chip bag?  Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

