Super8mm Filmmaking

Recently I purchased a couple rolls of Kodak’s Ektachrome 100D to run through my Super8mm camera.  I have been shooting film for a long time now and have recently decided that I need to do more work with it.  Now, I’ve never shot the 100D before so we’ll see what happens.  I wanted to get a couple of rolls and shoot them to see how grainy the stock is, how it scans and how, if any, it would degrade and soften as it’s edited and then converted to HD.

My folks live up in Northwest Iowa.  Currently there is an insane amount of flooding happening up there, to the likes of which hasn’t been seen in many, many years.  I’m going to shoot this stock up there this weekend when Jess and I take a trip up for the weekend.  Then next week I’ll get them sent off and processed and scanned and get some test footage put up.

Ultimately, I’d like to use either Super8mm or even 16mm on my next project, whatever that project may be, if the format allows it.  Shooting on film is simply so much more elegant and romantic than HD.  And HD finish is OK, but if you can shoot on film it simply takes the project to the next level.

Your thoughts?  Do you shoot HD or are you shooting film?  Why?  Stay tuned for the test footage and my thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

