Getting Into Biking

A couple of weeks ago I decided I would get into biking.  Like, seriously into biking.  And this is why.  Here in Iowa we have an event every July called RAGBRAI.  It is a week long bicycle ride across the state.  You go from river to river with nothing more than peddle power and beer.  Jess’ mom has done this ride the last two years now and one of the overnight stops was just a few short miles South of where we live.  We headed down to Altoona, Iowa and partook in the event that is RAGBRAI.  I decided that I wanted to do it.  That I COULD do it.  I started looking around at some different models of bikes and think I’ve landed on one that will fit the bill nicely for what I need it to do.  It is the Sirrus by Specialized.  It’s a great bike and it looks and feels (I stopped by a local bike shop and had an abridged audition of it) great.

I plan on beginning my training yet this year.  Primarily to get my body in shape.  Then over the course of the Winter months and the Spring, I’ll work on getting my muscles conditioned for the event.  There are an abundance of trails here in Central Iowa, so getting out and logging some miles shouldn’t be that tough.  I just have to do it.  I’ll keep you updated on my progress and get some photos up along the way.  RAGBRAI 2012 here I come!

Leave a Reply

