building a better bike

As I’m unwinding from an extended weekend of BBQ, beer, beach and fireworks and head back to work, I find my mind wandering.  It’s always been hard to me for stick with one thing for too long before I get distracted and move on to something else, only to come back to what I was doing, hours, or hell, days later.  Now that I’m working for myself, I find my mind wandering into new areas.  For instance, I’m riding RAGBRAI with Jess in a couple of weeks.  Every time I get on my bike I wish I would have had a little more input into the design of my bike to work a little bit better for me.  Now, obviously that’s just silly.  The good folks at Specialized don’t really do that.  BUT, it did get me thinking, why can’t I build my own bike?  Turns out, I CAN!  It’s not a do-it-in-a-weekend kind of thing, but it totally is doable.  In fact, right now I’m developing a checklist of items needed to build said bike.  Then, once that list is compiled, I’ll begin researching different manufacturers of those parts and figure out which ones will be used on my bike.  Side note, I need to come up with a name for this creation.  More on that later.  Anyway.  Has anyone else ever built a bike from scratch that could lend me some pointers?  I know that there are things I’m just not thinking of because i just don’t know what goes into this.  So, on top of my writing and filming, I’ve now decided that I’m going to build a custom bike.  It should be a fun project!  Photos and more as it evolves.  Input welcome!

Leave a Reply

