Ditch the Laptop?

I’m sitting at the City Bakery here in the East Village and I’ve overheard bits and pieces of a conversation on the other side of the room about one of the gentlemen taking his laptop completely out of rotation.  He apparently has a desktop in his home office and carries around his MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone and a hot spot in his bag.  He said he’s been MacBook Pro free since Monday and works exclusively off of his iPad and iPhone.  Now, me being me, I am drinking coffee like I’m getting paid for it and I walked back up to the counter to request a second French Press.  This gentlemen was doing the same.  I just couldn’t help myself.  I turned, apologized for listening in, and asked him how he was liking being MacBook Pro free?  He said that he loves it. I asked him the greatest advantage and disadvantage he’s encountered.  Mike (not his real name but sounds better than writing ‘the man’) said that he missed the actual keyboard for emails and docs, so he bought the Apple Bluetooth Keyboard.  Problem solved.  I said, ‘yeah Mike, but you’ve just added another piece of hardware to your bag.’  He told me that it’s so light and compact that the extra piece of hardware was a wash in the grand scheme of things.  One other thing he said was that he ended up getting a dock too.  Not necessarily to power the thing, but to get it at a good angle off the table while he was working.  He was getting tired of being all hunched over looking at it flat on the table.  Both valid points.  Now the good.  He said everything that he needed to get done throughout the day was all able to be done on the iPad.  EVERYTHING.  In addition, he can work on the thing all day long and never plugs it in.  So, no need to carry around the bulky power adapter for the laptop.  The battery life on the iPad is so stellar that he just plugs it in in the evening and it’s all ready for another full day of whatever he can throw at it.  Also, the weight.  His shoulder no longer hurts from the weight of the laptop.  

So, I say all of that to say this.  Could I use my Mac Pro for all of the heavy lifting applications that I use, ditch my MacBook Pro and just use my iPad?  (Well, I’ll have to upgrade MY iPad, I’m still rocking the first version!)  I don’t know if I could, but, I think I’m going to give it a shot and see what happens.  Over the next couple of days I think I’ll get my apps all reorganized, deleted and downloaded and see what happens.  I’ll keep you posted over daily posts and decide from there.  Who knows, there could be a slightly used MacBook Pro up for sale sometime soon.  : )

Have any of you done this?  Are you using your iPad, or any other tablet, in place of your laptops?  I’d love to hear what you have experienced if you have.

Leave a Reply

