A Lessening of Tech

I do get just how hypocritical that headline sounds as I pound this out on my MacBook Pro.  But, just hear me out.  I know that when the new hardware comes out, no matter the manufacturer, I get giddy with anticipation of when I can see it in the wild, as they say.  I love how technology makes me feel, like I’m using something that makes my life more enjoyable, more substantial, more meaningful.  But, as these ‘things’ have been created, we have started seeing apps for everything to improve upon those devices.  Our phones, our tablets, our TVs, there’s an app for every thing for every time of day!  And there’s my problem.  I’m using a different app for a different time of day which is accounting for all of my time throughout the day.  I just felt like all of this was taking over my life.  I felt like I wanted to simplify everything.  So I did some digging around on the web to see if I was the only one that was thinking this way, just to see how others were dealing with the issue.  Because I mean really, am I the only one that feels like the screens are taking over???  Turns out, no.  I have found articles ranging from people completely ‘unfriending’ Facebook, giving up Twitter handles and deleting Instagram feeds to people that just ‘take a break’ from one or two apps on all of their devices, you know, just to see how it goes, to see if they can ‘live without it’.  I am right in the middle.  Well, slightly North of the middle, headed toward getting rid of it all.

I have deleted Facebook from my iPhone and iPad and only log on with my MacPro when I’m at the studio.  When I am logged on, I have been limiting myself to 15 minutes in the morning and 15 minutes in the afternoon.  I do use Twitter on my iPhone and iPad, but don’t use it on my MacPro.  To me, Twitter just seems like I use it better when not on a desktop.  Anyway… I do still use Instagram.  I am a visual junkie after all.  The other app that I used CONSTANTLY was USA Today.  I have cut back on this, but I don’t necessarily feel that being informed with news is a bad thing.  Too much, yes (partly because the news doesn’t update that fast!).  So I have GREATLY reduced the amount of time that I am using USA Today.

It is important to note that I don’t want to come off as some whiny little bitch that has first-world problems.  I do still have to use these tools for work.  I am the owner of a boutique video and film production company, Diesel Pictures.  So, I can’t just up and rid my life of these things.  OK, noted.

Those are just a few of my apps, what are your go-to for time-killing and possibly you could do less of?  Or get rid of all together?

Next up, we’ll talk about the hardware itself.  Stay tuned!!!

 

Leave a Reply

