Connectivity

Interesting observation.  The internet has made us not have any idea how to do anything.  I say this because… Well, let me back up a bit.

After there first of the year I accepted a new position as videographer.  It’s been good so far and the people here are the best.  They are giving me a lot of latitude to do what I do and the freedom to explore looking into new things and techniques.

Which, brings me to my initial point.  The internet has made us not have any idea how to do anything.  Our internet was knocked out this afternoon.  People have been wandering around asking if it’s just their office or if everyone is out.  When it is confirmed that indeed the internet is out, 99% of the responses has been to the effect of ‘well how am I supposed to get anything done now’?  Now, I know that it’s mostly a joking response for the sake of a conversation with someone that might not otherwise have happened, but it begs the questions, if our computers, laptops, tablet and/or phones aren’t connected to the web, why do we panic so?

Is it the same at your office?  Do you work in an office?  Just a casual observation on a Wednesday afternoon.  Talk amongst yourselves.

Leave a Reply

