Indianapolis 500

tattoo

A couple weeks ago over Memorial Day Weekend, my wife and I traveled with her folks and one of their friends and a my sister-in-law.  Since my wife and I have been together, I’ve gone every year and this one marked my 6th.  I must say that this race is something people should witness in their lifetime.  There, that’s it, I won’t preach to you or tell you have to do this.  I’ll just suggest it.  You will have a great time and you’ll probably want to do it again.  Anyway…

So this year I took my camera along.  Full disclosure; it’s actually my wife’s camera that I have taken as my own.  Anyway, I borrowed a buddy of mine’s 150mm-500mm Tokina lens thinking I would throw that baby on the D3000 and get some great images.  Backing up a second.  This is a full manual lens.  I have a love for manual lenses and that’s what I like to shoot.  It’s my preference, so we’ll just leave that at that.  Anyway, I took that lens and my 50mm, again, manual.  This is the first time that I have used my buddy’s lens.  I discovered quickly that I really don’t like it.  It’s big and bulky and I knew that going into it, so I stuck it atop my monopod and started shooting.  Not a fan.  I found it just too heavy and bulky for my liking.  I did shoot some stuff with it, and I will share a few, but I think I’m going to just invest it a 100mm manual.  This event was an exception, but for what I like to shoot, I think the 100mm is going to be a better fit for my bag.

So this photo, I thought it was kind of interesting to see this guy standing and watching everything on the not-to-distant pit lane, drinking a beer, shirtless and tattooed.  This takes dedication and love to for not only the sport, but for just this track.  My sister-in-law has a similar tattoo, not that large or in that placement.  If I can find a picture, I’ll put that up here.  But for now, this one.  When I saw this image unfold, I just liked it because in a matter of feet from each other, you see a cross-cut of people that are attending this event, all with one common thread; racing.

 

Leave a Reply

